AZ Coaches Hall of Fame found new home for induction ceremony

March 29, 2023 by Jose Garcia, AZPreps365

Arizona Interscholastic Association executive director David Hines is one of the six Arizona High School Athletic Coaches 2023 Hall of Fame inductees.

The Arizona High School Athletic Coaches Hall of Fame found a new home to celebrate its coaching legends.

After a successful run at Phoenix Elks Lodge #335, the Arrowhead Country Club opened its doors to the hall of fame ceremony the AHSAC organizes. The 39th annual induction ceremony, which sells out every year, will be held on April 23.

Garye LaFevers (Buckeye, Hayden, Skyline baseball), Reedy David (Alchesay basketball), Wolfgang Weber (Salpointe soccer), Richard Taylor (Centennial football), Jerry Mullen (Seton Catholic softball), and David Hines (Mesa, Red Mountain track and field) are the 2023 AHSAC Hall of Fame inductees. Hines is the Arizona Interscholastic Association’s executive director.

The Desert Diamond Arena houses the hall of fame display of the 200-plus coaches who have been inducted so far. A no host cocktail will begin at noon before the hall of fame program begins at 1 p.m. on April 23.

Seats for the banquet have to be reserved by April 13. The cost to attend the event is $75 for adults, $20 per child.

To reserve a seat, mail your payment to Mike Clark, 3539 E. Wyatt Way, Gilbert, AZ 85297. Checks should be made to AHSACHOF. You can also make your payment through Zelle (Chase National Bank) using

For more information call Clark (480-512-2027), the HOF treasurer.